Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – Short Book Review

Rating: 5/5 stars

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why (TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY)

Author:  Jay Asher

Year of Publication: 2007

Outline:  Hannah Baker, a teenage girl, committed suicide a couple of weeks ago. The Story begins with Clay Jensen, a high school boy, finds a shoebox filled with tapes in his mail box. The whole book is him listening to the tapes, and through them discovering the “thirteen reasons why” Hannah Baker ended her life.

Characters:  There are many characters in this book, and I will completely ruin it for anyone that has not read it yet, if I reveal all of them.  The one thing that kind of makes me wonder about those characters, is the fact that, you only get to know them from Hannah’s point of view.  So what I tried doing while reading about them was, consider the situation and my reaction to it from both sides.

Overall feel:  I absolutely loved this book. I recommend it to anyone that likes Young Adult and especially if you like books with a more serious vibe. The book is wonderfully written, though I must admit it gets a bit confusing at times. But then again, maybe that’s just me. Overall, this book made me think about what I do more carefully.

 

Couple of Other Posts:

 

Leave a Reply

