Pitching Yourself Out There

I am only 17 years old, therefore, only 17 years of experience out of which I only remember the 12. Nevertheless, this is the first time in my life that I truly need to learn how to “market” myself successfully, how to pitch myself out there. In the past few weeks, I have realised that this, might be one of the most important skills I will ever learn.

Right now, I might only need this to get into a good university, but later on in life I will need it so that I can get a job, get a publisher, an editor, and only God knows for how many more things I will need it for. The funniest thing though is the fact that no one can teach me how to market myself successfully, maybe, I can find a few helpful tips here and there but in reality it is up to me. I have to be the one that learns how to present myself through my writing. How to be bolder and to take more chances, and how to always fight for what I want. The funny thing that this past few days blog posts, videos and advice on the matter have been appearing out of thin air. I haven’t for any tips and yet I have found so many tips, and I don’t know where to begin. I am at the moment where I am surrounded by so much information and no guidance to help me put everything in to order.

I am honestly at a loss. I do not know what I want to do with my life, I do not know exactly what I want to study and most importantly I do not know where to start. This is where you come in, what are some advice you would like to know when you were 17 and most importantly, where do you start with? Do you start by taking chances, making bold moves, reading on the matter or contacting people, or do you start somewhere different?

Ps. This is all for now, soon I will start with the book reviews and movie reviews. From the 10th of July I will follow a new schedule for posting, so be looking forward to that.

TUMBLR 

Leave a Reply

