The Fault In Our Stars – Movie Review

Note: Book Reviews for two of John Green’s can be found in the links below.

Looking for Alaska -Book Review

The Fault In Our Stars-Book Review

Rating: 4/5 stars

Title: The Fault In Our Stars

Year: 2014

Director: Josh Boone

Writer: Scott Neustadter (screenplay), Michael H. Weber

Novel: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

(some of the) Cast: Shailene WoodleyAnsel ElgortNat Wolff

 

Storyline: A young girl, Hazel Grace, suffering from cancer meets a boy,  Augusts, in the meeting group her mother makes her go. The two of them develop a very intimate relationship

Now, I will do this review a bit differently since I am pretty sure most of you know what this movie is about, and if you want to know what I thought of the book and the storyline and the character you can always read the book review. In reviewing this movie, the book adaption, i will do the same thing one of my favourite Booktubers,booksandquills, did (in this video). Although I will follow a very similar approach and divide the movie in to two parts,

1) the romance and

2) everything else.

You will find that I greatly disagree with her because I did not think that anything but the romance was living up to my standards.  I know people always say that you shouldn’t expect the movie to be nearly as good as the book, but I felt as if the parts that hadn’t had anything to do with romance were completely brushed over. I missed the lines from the “Imperial Affliction” that we had in the first meeting with Augustus in the book, I missed those parts, that were not romance and made the book something worth reading. There are thousands of contemporary or YA books that are books focusing on romance and “The Fault in Our Stars” is not one of them.  The first part, romance, was very well made. although in points it lost it a little bit, it was always on the right track, and that is something I really enjoyed about the movie.

I still gave the movie 4 stars because I genuinely enjoyed watching it. But in my eyes, if I hadn’t read the book , the movie would just be another movie talking about teenage love. I know many of you will disagree with this, but it is my personal opinion. My boyfriend on the other hand, who hasn’t read the book, really liked the movie, and it made him want to read the book, thus, I cannot truly pinpoint what is good and what is not about this movie. I can tell you though, that it is a movie worth watching, and more importantly a book worth reading.

 

2 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

