The Never Ending Story Movie Review

Rating: 4/5 stars

Title: The NeverEnding Story  

Year: 1984

Director: Wolfgang Peterson

Writer: Wolfgang Peterson (Screenplay), Herman Weigel (Screenplay) and Robert Easton (Additional dialogue)

Novel by: Michael Ende

  

Storyline: The story of a young boy, who through reading a book, becomes part of the fantasy world of the book.

 

Characters: The characters in this film where very relatable, yet I found that there could have been a bit more character development throughout this film.

 

General Feel: In my eyes, these film had two parts, the one that I liked and the one that I was not really into. The first, part of the film, till about the meeting with the love dragon, Falkor, was nice, but pretty boring but afterwards it all just mended very well together, and I really enjoyed the rest of the movie. Having seen the movie before when I was younger I now, noticed how many things I had not picked up, like some nice quotes. For example, “Never give up and good luck will find you”, or “Confronted with their true self most men run away… screaming”. Lastly, I really like the idea of the nothingness, the fact that people have stopped hoping and dreaming that much after all it is true, we do live in a word of “logic”.

 

Ps. What movie should I review next?

Leave a Reply

