Divergent Movie Review

Divergent book review

Insurgent and Allegiant book reviews coming up in the two upcoming weeks.

 

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Title: Divergent

Year: 2014

Director: Neil Burger

Writer: Evan Daugherty and Vanessa Taylor

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth 

 

This book to movie adaptation was a really good one in my opinion. Although many of the things that existed in the book (as well as characters) did not exist in the movie, I really enjoyed it. I may be influenced by the fact that I saw it before reading the whole entire book series, and thus wasn’t expecting something specific when I walked in the movie theatre.  Anyway I found that this movie was not lacking at all. It was action filled, and the characters had a reasonable amount of self development. The plot wasn’t so very much effected by the plot changes for now. What worries me though is the fact that the ending was very different, making me wonder how can they have this ending without changing what happens in the second book, Insurgent. Nevertheless I would recommend this movie to everyone because it was a really enjoyable movie.

 

PS. I am sorry it is such a short review but I did not have time.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Divergent Movie Review

      1. Quite honstly, Divergent and the Hunger Games are both post-apocalyptic YA. The same genre basically, so there are some common elements that are in a sense required to exist by the genre. Of course, there are some common characteristic and facts in the book, but in a sense the story, plot, background it is completely different, to me at least. The governments are different in the books, actually the only thing that is the same is the fact that there was a Great War that destroyed the previous civilisation (or something similar), or so we are told in the beginning. I think because the Hunger Games was of the first post-apocalyptic YA book to gain such recognision through the film, people tend to compare the new films that are of the same genre to it. I do not know if this answers your question, if you have any further ones ask away!

      2. I do have a review of all three books in the trilogy if you go to the book page you can find it easily. (here is a link , https://itsyouandeverything.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/allegiant-book-review/) I liked Allegiant quite a lot, although it was my least favourite in the trilogy. As I say in my review, what I did not like was the dual point narration, it threw me completely off. But, I liked the plot and I was sad with the ending (I think everyone was). Generally though, this trilogy was one of the most pleasurable reads for me, I really like the way veronica roth writes and her ideas so it was very engaging to read as a whole!

Leave a Reply

