Writing 101: Be Brief

Sometimes we read without knowing why. Sometimes I wonder why we stumble on the passages we do. Like this letter. There is no reason why I should be the one to read it but I was. All these emotions, written in a small A5 paper. Addressed to a woman. It is a letter from a daughter to her mother. It reads

I forgive you because now I forgive myself

I will find a post office and mail it to the address, hopefully it will soon be in the hands of the person it was addressed to.

 

Today’s challenge: Use as few words as possible.

7 thoughts on “Writing 101: Be Brief

  1. I’m left with so many questions. Why was the letter left unsent if the daughter forgives the mother (or was it the other way around)? How do you know the letter was from a daughter to a mother? Was it just a single line, or was this the only line you shared in the story?

    I know it’s just a story, but, as a reader, you really got my attention and I want to know the answers to the questions left unanswered…or was that part of your plan in writing this? See, more questions! Maybe I’m overly curious. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. It was actually planned to be written that way. The idea is that the letter somehow fell from the daughter’s bag as she was on her way to the post office. Those are the only two sentences I decided to share from the letter because those were the ones that meant the most to me, but inside the whole letter more information about their story and why the daughter had never forgiven her daughter before.

      Apart from that, when I started writing the story I got the feeling that the mother is dead, and so even if the letter was mailed to her she would never receive it, but the stranger reading the story did not know that.

      I hope this answers some of your questions and trust me when I read I am overly curious too ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you very much for your questions, they got me into thinking more about this brief story!

Leave a Reply

