Writing 101: Serially Lost

Sometimes it is hard to understand exactly what is going on.

“He is dying”

“He has cancer”

“Less than a month”

How can that be? I have known him my whole life. He has been there for me from the start. He was not the father figure I never had, I will not lie, but he was a friend. He was always there, to support me, to laugh with me, to be happy and silly with me.

I do not remember him thin and sick, not unless I try. I remember us in the garden having fun. I remember him teaching my sword fighting. Yet, sometimes I remember nothing. It is as if my mind is trying to protect me from remembering from grieving. I remember I did not cry in the news of his death, I knew it was coming up. I grieved, but I did not cry, I stayed strong, for my mum, my family. I am crying now. I am crying because I remember because this is a loss that can never be recovered.

 

Challenge: This is a three part series. The next installment will be up tomorrow (Saturday).

5 thoughts on “Writing 101: Serially Lost

  1. I am sorry to hear about that! may his soul rest in peace. Sometimes we block those memories so we wouldn’t lose them. well written dear!

Leave a Reply

