Writing 101: Serially Lost part 2

Four years later. My grandmother is sick, she has been sick for over 16 years, but she had never been that bad. It is like her brain has stopped working, she stutters and forgets what she wants to say. We assumed it was because of the heat, but she kept getting worse and worse.  At one point we decided to take her to the hospital. Check what was going on.

“We don’t know what is wrong with her.”

“We have to do a biopsy”

“Cancer. In the brain”

“She doesn’t have long”

I was there when we found out. She had asked to see me the previous day and I flew out there to see her. I would have never forgiven myself if I hadn’t. It was hard, seeing her in a bed, unable to do anything. This shouldn’t have happened. It was not supposed to be this way. I did not want to lose my grandmother, I wanted her alive. Sometimes, I still think the phone will ring and it will be her. But that cannot happen. She is lost and I cannot find her.

 

Part 1 : Writing 101:Serially Lost

4 thoughts on “Writing 101: Serially Lost part 2

Leave a Reply

