Blogging 101: Be Inspired By the Community

Yesterday I found this post about “why reading is actually good for you” and I found it to be extremely interesting. Everyone knows that through reading you improve you vocabulary and that the stories you read stick with you throughout your life, but never before had i concidered the idea that reading improved my memory. Thinking about it I can see how true that is for me but I have never thought about it before.

Anyway, if I had to add one thing to that list of all the benefits is the fact that books are a way to make friendships and I do mean that in more than one ways. You can make friends through the communities that exist for book lovers or for a particular book. For example, I am sure many people have made friends because of the Harry Potter community, I know I have, and that is extremely valuable to me. Furthermore, the book itself, with its characters can become your friend. I know that a few years I go I went through a fairly dark stage in my life and books were my friends, the only friends that I never minded having around.

That, is probably what makes reading so precious to me, the fact that it allows me to make friends and meet people… because of books I am never alone.

 

What is your favourite things about reading?

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Be Inspired By the Community

  1. What a great question …for me, the favourite thing about reading is getting in the mind of someone else. A great. Piece of writing, a novel or a blog entry makes you forget about the present, and draws you into their world of emotions. I asked my eight year old the same question, he replied, “it is fun, because it helps me get ideas on how to build stuff in MineCraft and learn about animals”.

Leave a Reply

