The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time #1) – Book Review

Side note: As I am sure you will understand this was not written by me. It was written by my brother. I have some information about this in my post Thoughts on Content. In this post I tell you a bit about my idea to have my brother write about the books he reads and the games he plays. So, this is the start of that. I hope you enjoy this.

Title: The Eye of the World (Book 1 of “The Wheel of Time” Series )

Author: Robert Jordan

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

 

Ok, so there might be a slight bias on my side when I rate this series of books, because it’s always easier to enjoy a book when the main character happens to be of the same sex and age as yourself, but this really should take nothing away from the book or the characters themselves – in fact, I’d say this book has some of the best character development that I’ve seen in a very long time. Every single one of the characters is unique, even those playing minor roles; every single one of them has their own virtues and vices which make them human – you will find no perfect, always right, almost omnipotent protagonists here, something which, to my experience, is surprisingly rare in the fantasy fiction genre. In fact, I have come to dislike the personalities of the majority of the main cast, and that makes me like them even more as characters. Being the first book of the series, you will start to see signs of change on the protagonists slowly at first, but it’s still a great opener nonetheless.

 

However, when this book (or series of books) was recommended to me during a random discussion, it was not for its great character development – even though it is indeed great – but for its very unique and interesting twist on the way the magic system of this world works. The idea is that there is a remote source of unlimited energy (called the “True Source”, with the energy being called the “One Power”), and channelers (the words “magic” and “magician” are never used as far as I remember) are people born with the ability to sense the Source and channel the Power through their body, weaving as they will to affect the world around them. The power is divided to a male and female part – saidin and saidar respectively – and they are completely separate and different, albeit similar in some aspects. While this might not immediately seem very special in and of itself, the author has made the best use possible of his idea, and the nuances and details of how channeling the One Power works and feels are really one of the spices that raise this book, and the series as well, a few steps above the rest – especially when it comes to describing battles between channelers.

 

Overall, the book is definitely worth picking up, but be prepared because the series itself is rather big, and I don’t think it will be easy to stop going through the books – at least, for me it hasn’t been easy at all.

3 thoughts on “The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time #1) – Book Review

Leave a Reply

