The Giver- Movie Review

 

Rating: 4/5

Title: The Giver

Year: 2014

Based on The Giver by Lois Lowry

 

A little background on the movie, plot and book. So, apparently, this book is like really famous and it is Dystopian YA, it was first published in 1993 – who knew there was Dystopian YA back then? I didn’t- Anyway, the movie is based on the book. Now, since I haven’t read the book I can’t judge how good the adaptation was, so I am sorry for that.

I really liked the movie, the plot was great and so was the story line. Jonas, the main character, is really well rounded, and I loved his role in society. Also, I love the fact that although in this society everything was limited, people couldn’t feel emotions, still most of the characters , to an extent, felt them. The directing was also really good, although the black and white annoyed me at times, I understand why it was used.

All fans of post-apocalyptic movies should watch this movie.

Leave a Reply

