The Return of the Ascendant – Book Review

Title: The Return of the Ascendant

Rating: 4/5 stars

Author: Raine Thomas

Plot: Kyra thinks she is an ordinary human girl, but that is only because she doesn’t remember her past. In reality she is an Alametrian. Not only does she come from a different planet, she also comes from a different galaxy.

The Plot is interesting, but I must admit that especially in the beginning it was very confusing. The explanations over how Alametria works were not very clear, so even when something was explained in the book, you needed time to understand the explanation.

Although the learning curve for this book is not big, the unclear manner in which things were explained made the world a lot harder to grasp.

However, overall there were not any plot holes that I can say I noticed, or that bothered me, which is surprising because this book is short. So, it was a pleasant surprise that the world was created so well within so few pages.

Characters: The characters in this book, is what made me want to keep reading. I really enjoyed reading about the relationship between Kyr and Ty, plus I really want to know what happens with these “star-crossed lovers.” The only thing that bothered me a bit was all the weird names and stations within the world’s social class. I feel like those could have been explained better. It is like there was a hierarchy, but it wasn’t really applied throughout the book.  (I do not know how to explain it)

Overall: Generally, this book was a very quick read. The books is fairly fast paced and it is a good page turner. It is enjoyable to read and for anyone who is a fan of fantasy YA, I would definitely recommend it.

Sidenote: I believe the book comes out only in ebook format, but I might be mistaken.

I was provided with a free copy of this book, through NetGalley in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

