A Thousand Nights – Book Review

Rating: 4/5 stars

Title: A Thousand Nights

Author:E. K. Johnston

Expected publication: October 6th

I RECEIVED A FREE COPY OF THIS BOOK THROUGH NETGALLEY IN RETURN FOR AN HONEST REVIEW.

Plot: A Thousand Nights is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. Now, I am not the type of person that reads a ton of retellings, but in a strange turn of events I have ended up reading 5 or 6 in the last few months and so far this has been the best one. This book had a great balance of keeping aspects of the original book and at the same time having its own plot and story to follow. Honestly, it was great! If I had to pin point one thing that I did not particularly enjoy, that thing was the fact that the beginning is quite slow. At the same time, this is one of the few occasions where slow did not also entail boring, which was great!

Characters: Two things before I jump into this section. Firstly, in my opinion this book was very character driven (or at least the characters are what kept me interested.) Second thing, this is written in a first person narration, so basically we see most other characters through the eyes of our female protagonist (However, and this might be a bit of a spoiler, the demon that possesses Lo-Melkhiin also becomes the narrator in parts of the story) Now, to the characters we go. So, our female lead is a weird mixture of power and intelligence, at the same time she always calculates her moves and is very conscious of those around her. The one thing that is not explained about her (spoiler) is where her magic comes from (which is definitely the only thing in the book that is not particularly well explained), he magic is what makes her special and what keeps her alive, not the story telling which she does in the beginning of the book, so I did expect a bit more of an explanation.

Lo- Melkhiin, although a villain, he was not a villain I could dislike, in my personal opinion he was by far the most appealing male villain I have read in a while and honestly, I kind of fell for him. Some, might consider this point to be a negative, but in my opinion this means that the writer did an awesome job at presenting the human part of Lo-Melkhiin, and not just the villain.

But that is definitely a point that not everyone will agree with me on, so if you have read or are planning to read the book, tell me your opinion on him. Also, your opinion on good villain characters, the ones you hate or the ones you hate to love?

The supporting characters brought a lot of diversity into this book, from the sceptics to the female leads family, everyone offered a new wonderful perspective into the book, honestly it was very enjoyable to read.

Overall, this was a very well written book. The story and the characters were vibrant and it really transferred me to a different world. The only flaw I can point, and the reason this book is a solid four stars and not five is because the magic of the world is not explained and that does leave a small but important plot hole.

However, this is easily fixed, I mean I would love to read a novella based on this world (I am sure it is not just me.)

Last but not least, I loved how the protagonists name is not revealed (or at least if it was, it must have been dropped very early in the book, because I cannot recall it.) I think that technique in itself adds a whole air of mystery to the whole book and especially to her.

Generally, I would recommend this book to anyone who likes YA, retellings, fantasy, romance. It was a great read!

Have you read any retellings recently? Be sure to tell me in the comments below!

Also, I am thinking of recording a book talk/ discussion for this book, what do you think?

Until next time, bye lovelies!

Leave a Reply

