Paper Towns – Movie Review

Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Title: Paper Towns

Check out my Book Review so that you can get an idea of what I thought of the book.

Book to Movie Adaptation:

I have so many things to say about this adaptation… I do not even know where to start.

Let’s start with the plot, at the start of the movie I thought, great they are keeping the original plot this is going to be awesome. Twenty minutes in the movie I had realized that my assumption was wrong. I honestly do not understand what went through the minds of the producer and screen writers, but for God’s sake if they had kept true to the book instead of adding things that did not need to be added, the movie would have been so much better.

Now, I know that I should not only judge how good of an adaptation it was, so here it goes, the movie as a movie.

Personally, I thought that the movie was rushed in parts that did not need to be rushed. The acting was great but almost every funny line from the book did not exist in the movie, which made the overall movie boring. This is not just my opinion, my boyfriend who has not read the book, found the movie to be boring and generally not so enjoyable. Also, there were scenes that had absolutely no value (spoiler) for example why change the ending. Why have them wait for a Margo that is not there?

Honestly, I do not even know why I am giving it a 2.5 stars, it is probably because I love Nat and John Green.

If you have watched the movie, please tell me what you thought in the comment section below.

Until next time, I hope life is treating you well.

Goodbye Lovelies!

Leave a Reply

