By The Dots – My hidden Punctuation Obsession

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “By the Dots.”

Punctuation is important in writing and in speaking. As a person who was at her first speaking competition 6 years ago, I can say that I have grown obsessed with some forms of punctuation. So, here it is, my hidden punctuation obsession.

Commas (,) – I have a very weird relationship with commas. I use them in writing the same way that I would use them in real life. I do not follow all the rules, I just use them when I need a small pause, or to emphasize something. Nothing too specific really. Anyway, I have grown to love commas, to me they provide that single small pause that is sometimes is enough for you to comprehend things, or to come to a great realization.

Ellipsis (…) – Ellipsis are my favourite. I use them when I am confused, surprised or when I just cannot really finish what I am thinking… (Ellipsis comes from a greek word that means omission)

Exclamation Marks (!) – I am generally happy and loud, so the Exclamation mark is the perfect punctuation for me. It is a part of my character and I love it! Also, it is something I share in common with my mum. She uses exclamation marks all the time, so I think it has rubbed off on me!

Leave a Reply

