Dear 2015 (#8) – Using your own words

Dear 2015,

Writing has always been a huge part of my life, but this year I wrote more than ever before.

This is what I realised.

  1. Writing is easy when I do not try to sound like someone I am not. It is nice to sometimes use fancy words and extraordinary descriptions, but the joy of using your own words is irreplaceable.
  2. The more time I let my writing sit without editing, the easier it will be to edit it. This is the analogy I like to make, it is like a cake. If you do not wait for it to cool down it will crumble and you won’t be able to ice it correctly.
  3. The more you do it, the better you get. Writing is about finding you own voice, which is truly more of a skill than a talent. So, the more you do it, the more clear your voice becomes.

 

So, thank you 2015, for allowing me to use the time you have given me to write.

Leave a Reply

